Gruesome Groin Shot (11/17/14) – Useless Machines & Useful Idiots

If you enjoy anything dealing with astronomy, then you need to see Interstellar. Seriously. Like right now. Put down the latte. Tell your boss that you’re taking a personal day. Drive to the nearest theater (preferably one with IMAX), and watch this movie. Trust me when I say that you can easily look past the fact that Matthew McConaughey is in it. The special effects are mind blowing; particularly the tidal wave scene (you’ll see what I’m talking about). There are worm holes, black holes, time shifts, and other crazy shit that astrophysicists are just now scratching the surface of. The head spinning implications of the climax are my absolute favorite though. Without giving away too much, I’ll give just 3 words as a hint: Fabric. Of. Reality.

Anyways… This is the debut of GGS. Why am I going more into Neil deGrasse Tyson mode instead of “y’all ain’t gonna believe this shit”? The movie is new. I have a tendency to shamelessly promote shit I enjoy. I’m also an astronomy nerd. However, there is a brief libertarian moment in the movie. (And I say brief because NASA is a focal point of the film. I’m not opposed to space exploration and possible colonization of other planets – quite the contrary, really. I hope to be able to experience space flight in my lifetime, and I believe that is a realistic expectation when left in the hands of a private entity rather than a tax funded entity with a bit of a fatal track record.)

In one of the early scenes, Cooper (Matthew McConaughey) is called into his daughter’s school because she was causing a disruption. What was her crime? Touting one of Cooper’s old astronomy textbooks (He’s a former NASA pilot turned farmer). Particularly, a section on the Apollo moon missions. In Christopher Nolan’s not-too-distant future, public schools teach the idea that the Apollo missions were faked as part of an elaborate form of propaganda in order to encourage the Soviets to bankrupt their system on “useless machines.” The rationale is that children should be interested in saving Earth rather than attempting to leave it. This is a fantastic metaphorical argument against central planners getting involved in education. Bureaucrats and lobbyists have their own agendas when it comes to education. Humans are inherently predisposed to intelligence. Everyone knows this. Parents know this. It is the parents who should be having a say on the education of their children, hence my argument for privatized education (which will come in-detail at a later date). In the meantime, kudos to Christopher Nolan and a well played “I see what you did there” scene.

Original Interstellar clip can be found here.

Leave a Reply

